WGTC Named Finalist For Georgia’s Technical College Of The Year

Technical College System of Georgia State Board Chairman Joe Yarborough along with State Board Member Chunk Newman from LaGrange, presented West Georgia Technical College President Steve Daniel with a proclamation naming West Georgia Technical College as a finalist for the 2016 Technical College of the Year award. Also shown congratulating Daniel is TCSG Commissioner Gretchen Corbin.

ATLANTA – West Georgia Technical College was named a finalist for the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2016 Technical College of the Year award December 1 by the Board of the Technical College System of Georgia.
West Georgia Technical College President Steve G. Daniel accepted a resolution from TCSG State Board Chairman Joe Yarborough in recognition of the college’s achievement during the past year and the outstanding efforts by the college’s faculty and staff on behalf of their students and the communities, businesses and industries they serve. Only three of the 22 technical colleges in the state were recognized for this honor.
“Our entire state board congratulates President Daniel and the faculty and staff of West Georgia Technical College for all that they have done and will continue to do to make their college an outstanding destination for students to learn. West Georgia Tech has an excellent record of high educational achievement and strong commitment to student success in the classroom and on the job,” Yarborough said.
“On behalf of the West Georgia Technical College family, I would like to thank the Commissioner and the State Board of Technical Education for this honor,” said WGTC President Steve Daniel said. “The resolution we were presented specifically recognizes the accomplishments and achievements of our faculty and staff during the past year. I am convinced that we have the very best faculty and staff in Georgia, and I am proud of the way they serve our students and our communities with the highest standard of excellence.”
The Sonny Perdue Award for the Georgia Technical College of the Year is presented each year by the members of the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia.
Southeastern Technical College in Vidalia was selected as the overall winner. West Georgia Tech and South Georgia Tech were the other two finalists.
The College of the Year award is based on a matrix of nearly two dozen criteria including measurements of enrollment, placement, graduation rates, foundation growth, business and industry served in economic development, adult education enrollment and GED’s awarded, board certification, and several other factors.
The award is named in honor of former Governor Sonny Perdue for his many years of support for the technical colleges and their mission of workforce development through technical and adult education.
West Georgia Technical College, with campuses in Carroll, Coweta, Douglas, Haralson and Troup counties, and class sites in Heard and Meriwether counties, offers over 120 associate degree, diploma and technical certificate programs of study. A unit of the Technical College System of Georgia, West Georgia Tech is the fourth largest of the state’s 22 technical colleges. For more information, please visit westgatech.edu.


Filed Under :
Topics : Education