Election Day Primary 2016 Re-Cap Of Local Races

Carroll County voters on Tuesday opted for 4-more years of Marty Smith as Carroll County Commission Chairman.
Smith received approximately 70-percent of the close to 7200 votes cast in the race over former chairman Bill Chappell.

Lee Powers will be the next commissioner for Carroll County’s district 5 after defeating Dale Williams.

The next coroner for Carroll County has not yet been decided. That race is down to a runoff in late July between Tuesday’s top vote-getter Keith Jiles and the man with the second most votes, Keith Hancock. Neither candidate collected more than 50-percent of the vote in the three-man contest Tuesday.

In the Carroll County Board Of Education races, incumbent Rob Cleveland narrowly defeated Dr. Bernice Brooks; Bob Pinckney defeated Alan Martinez; and, incumbent Denise Askin avoids a run-off by collecting about 55-percent of the votes in that three-person race.

The two republican candidates for the U-S House Third District who received the most votes in Carroll County, also received the most votes from voters in the 13-county district overall. That means a run-off will take place in July between Mike Crane and Drew Ferguson. The winner of that race will oppose democrat Angela Pendley in November. Pendley won a very close race on Tuesday.

It appears that former Villa Rica Mayor Jay Collins will begin his new gig as District 68 State House Rep. in January of 2017. The secretary of state’s website shows Collins with a 9-point victory over former district 68 Rep. Tim Bearden; and collecting around 53-percent of the total votes.

In the state senate district 28 race, Matt Brass defeats Hayden Marlow with close to 82-percent of the vote.

In Haralson County, sheriff Eddie Mixon received more than double the amount of votes as his challenger John Hutcheson.

Chief magistrate judge Brandon Heath won easily over challenger Stephen Stovall.

David Tarpley wins the district one seat at the county commissioners table; and Donnie Ridley wins the district three seat.

U-S Congressman Tom Graves won re-election in the 14th district of the U-S House Of Representatives.
Filed Under :
Topics : Politics