2013 Election Wrap: SPLOST; Sunday Sales, Council & Mayors

Overall voter turnout in Carroll County reported as a little more than 10-percent of the county’s registered voters.
61-percent of Carroll County voters approved the 2015 SPLOST plan.
Haralson County voters did not approve the SPLOST plan put before them.
Carrollton city residents approve a plan for Sunday package alcohol sales. Close to 62-percent of voters approving.
Two city council races in Carrollton. The incumbents winning both of those contests.
Gerald Byrd will start a new term as ward-one councilman in January. For the ward two seat, Mike Patterson avoids a run-off by receiving 54-percent of the vote.
The Carrollton city school board ward-two race results in the county’s only run-off election. Ward two residents will return to the polls in early December.
April Harris received the most votes of the seat’s four candidates.
Katie Williams will also be on the ballot for that run-off election after pulling in 11-votes more than Beth Hunt for the second spot.
A pair of Mt. Zion city council incumbents will not be returning to their posts in 2014.
Marty Spruill defeats Andrew Richie for the post-three seat; and it’s John Griffin over Bobby Mullenix for the post-four seat.
In Temple, Lester Harmon will return to the mayor’s seat in 2014 after an 8-year absence. He collected 55-percent of the vote over Todd Rothwell.
Penny Ransom will step in as Temple’s new ward-one city council woman after defeating incumbent Terron Bivens.
Three city council races in Villa Rica. The incumbent wins one of those.
Leslie McPherson wins the ward-three race—holding off incumbent Rusty Dean and Ryan Nickerson; and collecting enough votes to avoid a run-off.
Mike Williamson defeats former mayor Monroe Spake in ward four.

Danny Carter defeated incumbent Woody Holland in Ward-5.
Many thought the race for Whitesburg mayor would result in a run-off as four candidates applied for that job. However Ronnie Pate took in 63-percent of the vote and he’ll replace Amy Reeves Williford in 2014. Williford will instead begin a term as post-one councilwoman next year.
Filed Under :