Qualifying Over. November Ballots Feature Contested & Uncontested Seats

Qualifying for the November elections is now over. There are several contested races in Carroll County.
In Carrollton, incumbent Ward 1 Councilman Gerald Byrd is challenged by economic development director, Anita Jones.
Ward-2 Councilman Mike Patterson is up against two other candidates. Business owner Wes Phillips and retired Don McKenzie both qualified earlier this week.
There’s a 4-candidate race for Carrollton City School Board’s Ward-2 seat, currently held by Joe McGinnis. McGinnis decided not to seek re-election this year. Instead, one of these four ladies will take over in 2014: April Brewer Harris, Katie Doyle Williams, Beth Hunt and Beth Scholl each qualifying.
At-Large incumbent David Dodwin and Ward-Three incumbent Jason Mount will return to their school board positions in 2014. Neither man facing a challenger this November.
We’ll see contests for City Council Wards 3, 4 and 5 in Villa Rica.
Incumbent Ward 3 Councilman Rusty Dean faces challenges from two candidates: Leslie McPherson and Ryan Nickerson.
Incumbent Councilman Patrick Henrickson chose not to qualify this week so Ward-4 will be represented by a new man in 2014. Former Councilman and Mayor Monroe Spake and salesman Mike Williamson are the choices for Mirror Lake area residents.
Ward 5 Councilman Woody Holland says this year’s campaign is the last he will engage. He is seeking a fifth consecutive term. He’s challenged in November by former Ward-One City Councilman Danny Carter.
The race is on to replace Mayor Rick Ford in Temple, with three candidates qualifying: former Mayor Lester Harmon, businessman Todd Rothwell and business owner Karen Powell.
Temple Ward One Councilwoman Terron Bivens has a challenger for her seat. 44-year old Penny Ransom qualified Wednesday.
Mobile home park owner Howard Walden is the lone qualifier for City Council Ward Two and will replace Larry Mann in 2014.
No contested races in Bowdon. Incumbent Ward 4 Councilman Marty Johnson will keep his seat at the long desk.  Retired educator Jan Rowland Johnson is running unopposed in Ward 1. She will take over the seat now held by Ray Garrett.
Both city council incumbents in Mt. Zion have challengers. Post 3 incumbent Andrew Richie is on the ballot along with Marty Spruill. Post-4 incumbent Robert Mullenix is challenged by John Griffin.
Four candidates qualify for the Mayor’s race in Whitesburg to replace current Mayor Amy Reeves Williford. Williford instead choosing to run for City Council Post-One this year. She’s unopposed for that seat.
Candidates for Mayor include educator, Lanelle Holland, business owners James David Blair and Rosa Ann Crowder; and Ronnie Pate, who is retired.
The faces representing Wards 2, 3 and 4 on Whitesburg City Council will look the same in 2014. William Smolar, Lucy Gamble and Wayne Posey all qualified this week.
Any runoffs to the November 5th  elections will be held on December 3rd.
All Carroll County residents will have a chance to vote November 5th on whether to continue the 1-cent special purpose local option sales tax.
Carrollton voters will decide if city retail stores can sell packaged alcoholic beverages on Sunday.
The last day to register to vote is October 7th.
Filed Under :
Location : Carroll County